Skip to content

Smoothie of the Day: Raspberry Pecan Whatever

February 28, 2011
mesquite powderrrrrrr

The kind of mesquite I have, from Navitas Naturals.

Smoothies are my favorite thing to eat for breakfast. When I’m done with morning stretches, I want what I eat to be easy on my sleepy digestive track. Smoothies deliver the goods. I’ve also been consuming a lot of cooked stuff in this chilly wet season, which makes me a little sluggish. My body needs fresh stuff to keep it feeling good but a salad sounds like the least appetizing thing in the world right now, so… hellooo, blender. This one started out as a “we’re out of food stamps, what’s in the fridge” drink. Now I need it ALL THE TIME. It tastes like a summer raspberry lime pie. I think mesquite is the secret ingredient but if you haven’t got it, don’t worry.

Raspberry Pecan Whatever Smoothie

makes about 4 c, feeds 2.
  • 1/2 c frozen or fresh raspberries
  • 1/2 c orange juice
  • 1 c water
  • 2 c (not terribly packed, but y’know, full) baby spinach
  • 1 tsp mesquite powder
  • 1/4 c pecans
  • pinch salt
  • 1/4 c cilantro
  • 1/4 c vanilla coconut bliss OR yogurty-stuff
  • additional powders of choice, totally optional: I used a spoon of green powder, a scoop of fiber, some hemp protein powder and a little stevia to balance it out (the hemp makes everything taste like dirt).

Blend & drink. Yum.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 12:02 am

    Ahhh this sounds amazing! Cilantro? Interesting!! Does the mesquite add flavor or is it for nutritional benefit? Haven’t tried it yet but there’s an herb shop around my apartment that sells it pretty cheap in bulk ^_^

    • March 1, 2011 12:32 am

      you’ll go freakin NUTS for mesquite. It tastes like graham cracker powder — it’s even slightly sweet. I add a little to any crusts I make for that flavor alone. I use it mostly for flavor + fiber + low glycemic sweetness + (supposed, I ain’t never seriously checked it out) low carbiness, but Nativas says it’s good for other stuff too.

Leave a Reply

