Skip to content

Smoothie of the Day: Pina Colada Stomach Soother

March 7, 2011

Pineapple is what does my stomach good here. Thanks, bromelain! Image from Wikipedia.

Okay, I could have done a million things to make this much easier on the tummy. But I’m not in THAT much pain; Epic and I just need some routine gastronomic maintenance. We had a dirty street fight with a bag of (Jalepeno!) Cheetos last night and I think we won. It was the cap to a huge kick of binge drinking. Today when I woke up our room smelled like farts, which means it’s time to get back to eating Good Things (i.e., not tequila for dinner). I can’t wait until the weather warms up so I can open a window in there, eww.

Pina Colada Stomach Soother Smoothie

Makes about 4c, feeds 2. Blend it all up!
  • 1 c water
  • 1 c coconut milk OR another c water + a small handfull of shredded coconut
  • 2 big pineapple spears, or maybe 3-4 rings (as long as it’s fresh)
  • 1 banana
  • a handful of cilantro
  • 1 c spinach (packed)
  • 1 orange, peeled
  • 1 little knob of ginger, peeled
  • 1 heaping scoop of almond butter
  • optional extras: 2 scoops hemp protein, 4 drops stevia, a scoop of “tropical” magnesium, a spoon of green powder, a scoop of fiber and a few dropperfulls of a ginger/cinnamon/etc digestive tincture I’ve got in the cupboard

Besides this giant smoothie, I’ll be mostly snacking on nuts and drinking a lot of peach detox tea today to give my stomach a break. Then I’ll be terrible and finish up the bag of Cheetos.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2011 8:01 pm

    For me, smoothie really means a huge glass of the combination of mango, banana, blueberry/strawberry, with melted chocolate on top. It’s the first time to hear that pineapple can soother our stomach! Interesting theory!
    For more healthy recipes, you can check out at here:
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes
    Check it out! Hope you like it!

  2. Ashley permalink
    March 22, 2011 7:56 pm

    This looks delish.

Leave a Reply

