Skip to content

Salad with Lemon Basil Dressing and Salmon or Eggs

March 25, 2011

Epic and I have been trying to cleanse/detox this week. Read: drink no alcohol, smoke no cigarettes and put away the bong. Our diet has been way cleaner too. Sometimes your body just needs  a break, right? We’ve been eating a lot of raw vegan but my intense workout (aerials and now floor acrobatics) has me CRAVING way more protein than nuts and veggies have been able to give me. I mean, wake-up-at-three-AM-and-want-to-eat-an-entire-chicken cravings. But chicken gives me nasty farts (boo) and I think they’re cute so I’m eating a lot of fish and eggs. I still want veggies with my protein so here’s a bomb-ass salad that we’ve been eating variations of all week. You can see that I took the laaaast of it to work this morning in this sad little camera phone picture. It tastes SO MUCH BETTER than it looks. It’s like the perfect spring food! I’m gonna make it again next week ahhhhh ahhh AHHHH

Salad with Lemon Basil Dressing, Grilled Onions and Salmon or Eggs

Feeds two happily, but I made double this because we like it so hard.

SALMON  & ONIONS:

  • 2 T butter, ghee or coconut oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 red onion, quartered and sliced
  • 3-4 cloves garlic minced fine
  • 2 salmon steaks, thawed or fresh (I’m able to buy frozen Quinault treaty wild-caught at my local co-op and it is the best frozen fish I have ever had, hands down.) OR however many eggs you & the people you’re feeding collectively want. Or do both! Go crazy! Or neither and keep it vegan.
  • 1/2 lemon
  • optional: a dash of fish sauce

Rinse off the salmon and pat dry. Add your oil, salt and pepper to a medium-hot pan. Throw in the onions and garlic and stir around, coating everything in oil. Lay the steaks on top of the onions, put a lid on the pan and set it to medium-low. You’ll leave it there for at least 5 minutes, 10 max. If you don’t eat fish, here’s the egg option: soft boil them and just grill up your onions on medium heat.  Both the eggs and fish need time to cook, so in the mean time…

SALAD:

  • 1 big head of lettuce OR big bag of salad mix. Enough for two people.
  • 2 green onions, diced up nice
  • 1/2 cup nuts. I’d use pumpkin seeds or almonds, but had some raw nut crackers that I crumbled up instead.

Rinse veggies, mix it all, etc. Check your salmon! How’s it looking?  You’re going to want it cooked through but not overdone. Are your eggs boiled?

DRESSING:

  • 1 lemon peeled & seeded + juice of half a lemon
  • 1/4 c extra virgin olive oil OR melted coconut oil
  • pinch salt
  • ground pepper to taste
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2 bundles Thai basil (or regular, but this shit was on sale!)
  • huge pinch dry parsley
  • 3 T raw honey
  • dash of H20

Throw it all in a blender and process until smooth.

If your salmon looks good and done on the top, bring your heat up to a medium-high and flip it into the pan (no longer on top of onions) and get rid of the lid. Let all that sweet, sweet juice sizzle off for a minute while you sear it on one side, then flip and let it sear on the other for a minute max. Move the onions around to make sure nothing burns! I cooked my salmon for about 10 minutes total from start to finish. When it looks done (break a piece apart to make sure, unless it’s fresh and you like it extra pink inside) squeeze half a lemon over the top and remove from heat.  If you cooked eggs, shell and chop them all up in a bowl with the onions. Put everything out, let people serve themselves and watch it disappear.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 2:19 am

    Oh yes, I would eat it right now if we had any appropriate fish in the house. This also sounds a little like a salad I make with seared marinated tempeh. Aren’t salads with lots of greens and very tasty yet non-glurge-inducing protein items the best?

    • April 6, 2011 3:27 pm

      Yes! Salads with some sort of protein are my favorite food in the world right now. It probably has to do with spring popping up so I crave less baked (often “glurge-inducing,” haha) warm things and more fresh flavors.

Leave a Reply

