Skip to content

food diary & choco chip cookie recipe

April 19, 2011

Okay, so I overcompensated with the egg consumption this week. I think our house has achieved maximum duck egg overload. We don’t need to eat them every day in every meal. But we’re still eating omelets and pancakes and other goodies I can use them for (do you know how many grain-free bread recipes I’ve archived? Do you?) so here’s some food diary for you:

scramble!

  • This morning I made a big, delicious scramble omelet mess for breakfast: 3 duck eggs, a bunch of curly green kale ripped from the stem, half an onion, some shredded napa cabbage and smoked salmon. Served up with some gf english muffins that made me go “meh.” I won’t buy them again.
  • The most amazing veggie burgers ever, with duck eggs, chia, celery, onions and Ricki’s fake ground meat recipe. I can’t get enough of this stuff right now. They were rich, smoky and completely satisfying.
  • Green protein smoothies all the time. I need to go buy some fresh veggies because right now I’m gulping down protein powder, green powder, orange juice and bananas. Not very inspiring, but I’m also not a fan of this protein powder. At least it’s not as blah as straight hemp protein.
  • Free Chinese food. Not something I usually eat, full of stuff I was allergic to, but I don’t give a shit because it was free!
  • Cookies.

cookie monster

 Chocolate Chip Cookies version 1

grain-free, gluten-free, vegan, low-glycemic. Based off a recipe from Elana’s Pantry. Makes about 20-30 depending on their size.
  • 1 c almond meal (you could be fancy and make your own, or lazy and buy a bag of it at Trader Joe’s. Guess which I did!)
  • 1 c coconut flour
  • 1/2 c tapioca flour
  • 1/2 c coconut sugar
  • 1/2 c oil (if it’s a melted one, make sure it’s cool by the time you mix in your choco chips.)
  • 2 T H2O
  • 1 T vanilla
  • 1//2 t salt
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1 T chia seed meal (optional)
  • 1/2 c chocolate chips (I was craving carob chips, so I used those instead).

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Mix all the dry ingredients in one bowl and the wet in the other, then mix them together! Scoop tablespoon sized cookies out onto a tray. They’ll keep their shape while they cook, so smooth the little balls out if you want them to look less like drop biscuits and more like bakery goods. Pop them in for about 10 minutes. These are good out of the oven, but unlike traditional wheat ones they’re wayyyy better at room temperature.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2011 8:39 pm

    Excellent post thanks for sharing. I love sharing delicious recipes. Food is something we all can enjoy. Take care.

    Delicious Cod Recipe

  2. April 20, 2011 3:03 am

    I’m always looking for more recipes with coconut flour. . . this one sounds great! And I’m so glad you’re loving the faux meat recipe–yay! 😀 Are you going to post your veggie burger recipe–??

    • April 21, 2011 5:42 pm

      I love coconut flour too! I can buy it in bulk at my local co-op so it’s usually my flour of choice. It’s definitely more of a “fluffy” flour, though; I’m going to try and steer my next batch of cookies into the realm of “buttery and crispy,” hee hee.

      And yes! I’ll post that burger recipe soon. I have a backlog of recipes for different “ground meat” meals in which I’ve used the faux meat, like these amazing patties and some awe-inspiring meatballs. Mmmm.

Trackbacks

  1. Diet, Dessert and Dogs » New Candida FAQ Page, New Web Page Recommendations and DDD in Your Kitchen (Plus Gratuitous Cute Dog Pics)

Leave a Reply

