Skip to content

behold the best tuna salad ever

April 21, 2011

I’ve been craving raw, fermented sauerkraut like crazy. Luckily for me, local wonder OlyKraut gets me my fix! They have a variety of wonderful flavors — the Eastern European one is so addictive — but I was poor so I saved a dollar and got the basic original kind. I’ve been putting it in everything for the past 48 hours like salsa (what the fuck?), scrambled eggs, and now this wonderful tuna salad. Gonna make this again, and again, and again and again…

get in my mouth

Spring Tuna (real or not) Salad

Egg-free, dairy-free, grain-free goodness! Easily raw vegan optional. Makes enough for 4 sandwiches/wraps.
  • 2 cans tuna (I spent an extra 30 cents to use yellowfin) OR 1 medium zucchini and 1/2 cup of almonds or macadamia nuts if you wanna get vegan
  • 3 stalks celery
  • 1 avocado
  • a jar of pickles. don’t worry, you won’t use the whole thing.
  • 1/2 cup sauerkraut
  • 1/2 tomato
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 handful spinach
  • a pinch of smoked salt
  • 1/2 t white pepper

If you don’t have a food processor, just finely dice & mash in the places I say to puree/process it up.

Throw the avocado, garlic and 1 stalk celery into the food processor. Take your jar of pickles and pour into the processor about 2-3 T juice and 2 T seasonings out of the bottom. Trust me, those pickled bits of garlic and herbs are what really makes this good. Blend everything until it’s creamy smooth, then add everything else and pulse until it’s choppy good. This is just… this is the shit.

I might have piled extra OlyKraut on top of mine later.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

